I am sick of winter already – Electric hot water bottles and scarves to keep warm


I’m sick of the cold weather all ready, we are only in the first week of July and already I’m sick of it, it has been cold and miserable and I’m finding it hard to get warm

My saving grace, if you will, my favourite possession this winter is my electric hot water bottle.

I did a little research before posting and some electric hot water bottles have been recalled, but not mine, and not in WA.

skyla hot water bottle

I follow the instructions and I absolutely love it, I am not a big fan of air conditioning and having the heat on my face, so the hot water bottle sitting in my lap when I’m cold helps warm me up.

I heat it up before bed and it keeps me warm all night, we don’t have electric blankets or fleecy sheets, I heat it up before we get in the car so that I am kept warm on our hour drive into the office, and plug it back in again when I get there and it keeps me warm all day.

I also have one on the boat, because they stay warm for hours, I don’t need to use electricity to heat it up often and only when we turn the generator on do I plug it in again and warm it up.

I am a big lover of scarves, and have lots of them, however, I don’t like the big bulky ones around my neck, I find that they give me a neck ache, so I have made my own this winter.

I needed a white embellishment of some sort to put on my black scarf, and found a lovely flower scarf clip in Spotlight, but it was $7.50, and after looking at it, I thought to myself, I can do this, so I set to googling on YouTube for making fabric flowers.  Well I found the best video showing a no sew technique for making flowers, so I used the technique to not only make flowers as scarf clips, but scarves as well.  After creating the first couple I got so excited that I now have at least 1 flower and 1 scarf in each colour fabric that I had.


13509425_1049713105120456_274349145_o

13549201_1050231058401994_2050604318_o

Leave a Reply

