Today’s funny Friday 22nd February 2013


Young piper

As a young piper, I was asked by a funeral director to play at a grave-side service for a homeless man, with no family or friends.

The  funeral was to be held at a cemetery way back in the country, and this  man would be the first to be laid to rest there.

As I was not familiar  with the backwoods area, I became lost; and being a typical man did not  stop for directions.

I finally arrived an hour late. I saw the backhoe  and the crew, who were eating lunch, but the hearse was nowhere in  sight.

I apologized to the workers for my tardiness, and stepped to the sideof  the open grave, where I saw the vault lid already in place.

I assured the workers I would not hold them up for long, but this was the proper thing to do.

The workers gathered around, still eating their lunch. I  played out my heart and soul.

As I played the workers began to weep. I played, and I played, like I’d  never played before, from My Home &

The Lord is my Shepherd to Flowers  of the Forest. I closed the lengthy session with Amazing Grace and  walked to my car.

As I was opening the door and taking off my coat, I overheard one of the workers saying  to another, ‘Lard Jeezuz b’y,

I never seen nothin’ like that before and  I’ve been putting in septic tanks for twenty years.

Leave a Reply

