First curry that I enjoyed.


Masterfoods Mild Chicken Tikka Masala

Masterfoods Mild Chicken Tikka Masala

 

Today we cooked Masterfoods Mild Chicken Tikka Masala – using the packet spice mix/ recipe base and I thoroughly enjoyed it, so far as to say, I have added it to my cook again list.

I cooked the rice in the Thermomix, a little disappointing as I have cooked rice in it before and it has cooked beautifully, this time there were patches of rice still crunchy. I put it back on to cook for a further 2 mins, turned out ok, but not overly happy

I made the recipe as is on the pack but would tweak a little next time and add onion and red capsicum.

I cooked the chicken in the pan on the stove, however, had Grumpy not been hovering I would have cooked it in the Thermomix and put it in the Thermoserver.

We both really enjoyed it.

I have not wanted to make curries, in fact never made a curry that is not with beef mince and curry powder and when we have that type of curry, we have condiments on top, peanuts, sultanas and dessicated coconut.

 

Ingredients

2 tbspn vegetable oil – we use olive oil – EVOO

500g lean chicken thighs diced

40g Masterfoods Mild Chicken Tikka Masala Mix

½ brown onion sliced – would add next time

¼ cup red capsicum sliced – would add next time

140g tomato paste

400g tinned tomatoes

125ml thickened cream

1 ½ cups cooked rice – we use basmati

Preparation

Cook rice

Heat oil in pan and cook chicken until browned

Sprinkle the recipe base over the chicken and continue to cook for another 2 mins stirring until coated

Add tomato past and tinned tomatoes and stir to combine

Add cream and simmer on low heat for 10 mins or until sauce thickens

Serve with Rice

 

Leave a Reply

